Home
HOW DO I SIGN UP?

Read 5 easy steps to signing up and creating new accounts.

Read More


COURSE REQUIREMENTS

Information explaining the requirements of the course.

Read More

CHALLENGE THE COURSE

Info for experienced riders and those interested in challenging the online course.

Read More




FROM ANOTHER STATE?

Info about riding in Oregon if you’re from another state or country.

Read More



MORE INFORMATION

Oregon's ATV trails, rider permits, training and more.

ATV Oregon.gov



FAQ

View frequently asked questions.

Read More




CONTACT US

Need more information
or have questions?
1.877.7SAFELY
1.877.772.3359

Send Email



Sign UpLog In

Welcome to rideATVoregon
 

Since 2009 safety laws have been in effect for operating quads and three-wheel ATVs (Class I ATVs) and off-road motorcycles (Class III ATVs) on lands open to public use. (See chart below for age-related timelines.) In order to make training as convenient as possible, the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department now offers this free safety education program and certification online on this website.

SAFETY TRAINING EXEMPTION: Safety training isn't mandatory for riders using an ATV or off-road motorcycle for farming, agriculture, forestry, nursery, Christmas tree growing operations or when riding on private land.

Training Online in Three Easy Steps
 

1. Study and pass the online test on this website. A student can expect to spend between one and two hours for the entire process.
2. We'll mail you a plastic, wallet-sized All-Terrain Vehicle Safety Education Card approximately 30 days after you pass the test (You can print a 30-day temporary education card immediately after you get a 'pass' confirmation).
3. Carry the ATV safety education card with you whenever you operate a Class I or Class III ATV on lands open for public use.

NOTE: Youth 15 and under (under 16) have the additional requirement to get hands-on training. At the completion of this on-line safety course your child can print a Certificate of Completion allowing them to practice riding for 180 days, giving them plenty of time to find and complete a training course. Click Here for more information.

Mandatory Training Ages
 

Year
Mandatory on-line Safety Training Age
Jan. 1, 2009 Youth 15 and under and adults supervising youth
Jan. 1, 2010 30 and under
Jan. 1, 2011 40 and under
Jan. 1, 2012 50 and under / Youth must also have hands-on training (see above)
Jan. 1, 2013 60 and under
Jan. 1, 2014 All riders must have an ATV safety education card

There is no minimum age to take the online course, though some children may have a difficult time with the course material. We strongly encourage parents to go through the course materials and test with their child/children. Parents who participate and who pass the test will receive their safety card as well. Even parents who choose not to take the test usually find the course both informative and enjoyable.

No Internet?
 

If someone does not have access to the internet or for some other reason is physically unable to take the on-line course, please have them call our ATV hotline toll free at 877-772-3359 (877-7SAFELY) for an equivalency course application.

Did you lose your card?
 

Click here to order a replacement card and find out more information about replacement cards or call the ATV hotline (above).

Frequently asked questions
 

Click here for a list of frequently asked questions about the Oregon Online ATV Safety Education Course.

Other rider requirements in Oregon
 

Click here to go to our main All-Terrain Vehicle web site, www.oregonOHV.org where you can find out everything you need to know about what you need to ride and where.


   Home  | Privacy Policy  | Contact   FAQ  | Course Requirements  | How To Sign Up  | From Another State  | ATV Oregon.gov   | Acknowledgments